Dawson County, NE

 Dawson County is rich in history from the Swedes who settled in Gothenburg, to the mysterious John Henri Cozad who founded Cozad at the "100th Meridian then on to Lexington, originally named Plum Creek.

The County Seat is located in the City of Lexington, Nebraska. The Courthouse complex is sandwiched between 7th and 8th street and Washington and Grant streets on the east and west. The Courthouse Complex consists  of the historical Courthouse building completed in 1914 and boasts Beaux Arts architecture. Entering from the west side of the courthouse  will lead you to County Court, District Court, Probation and the County Attoroney’s Office. Drivers License, the surveyor and road department  are located on the lower floor of the original building.

The "annex" addition was completed in 1955 faces east and  houses the county clerk, treasurer, assessor, register of deeds, and emergency management. The Law Enforcement Center was built in 1993 and attaches on the north side of the building utilizing a separate entrance.

The County Extension Office, Weed Department and Health and Human Services are located off site.

Click HERE for a map of the Dawson County Courthouse Complex