• slider
  • slider
  • slider

Latest News

New Planning Commission and Board of Adjustment Member
Application for Appointment to Boards & Commissions


Dawson County was established by the territorial legislature in 1860 and officially became a county in 1871 by proclamation  of acting Governor William James. The county was named in honor of  Jacob Dawson, the first postmaster in the settlement of Lancaster County, Nebraska.

Situated in mid-Nebraska Dawson County stretches east and west forty two miles along the I-80 corridor through the towns of Overton, Lexington, Cozad and Gothenburg, and twenty four miles north and south through grassy canyons filled with agriculture related industries.
                      more about Dawson